Bayit Yehudi primary today

The Bayit Yehudi primary is today and 77,000 dues-paying members will have the opportunity to determine who will be on the Knesset list in the upcoming election.

The competition for a realistic spot on the list will be fierce as up to seven realistic spots are already reserved for women or optional selection by the chairman or the central committee. The chairman might choose not to exercise his right to fill reserved spots, other than adding Yinon Magal, which would leave two additional realistic spots on the list to be filled based purely on the vote.

The big names running in the primary are Ayelet Shaked, Uri Auerbach, Eli Ben Dahan, Nissan Slomiansky and Avi Wortman, all of whom are interested in being ministers in the next government and will have to prove themselves by finishing high enough in the primary.